4 faculty receive funding from Kohl Research Competition

Left to right: Jason Fletcher, Susan Yackee, Yang Wang, Bobbi Wolfe

Four La Follette School faculty members received funding from the Herb Kohl Public Service Research Competition in spring 2019: Professors Jason Fletcher and Susan Webb Yackee, Associate Professor Yang Wang, and Professor Emeritus Barbara “Bobbi” Wolfe.

The Kohl Competition supports nonpartisan research by La Follette School faculty members that informs critical public policy and governance debates and advances evidence-based decision-making. It was launched in 2016 with a $1.5 million gift from former U.S. Sen. Herb Kohl.

Research during Round 4 of the competition will focus on social genomics, U.S. policymaking at the state level, Medicare Part D, and postsecondary need-based financial aid outcomes. Each project will support at least one La Follette School graduate students as project assistants, who receive a salary, fringe benefits, and tuition remission.

Award recipients will share their research during public events or practitioner workshops during 2020 or 2021.

“These projects offer tremendous opportunities for La Follette School faculty members to share their outstanding research with state and national policymakers, practitioners, and the general public,” said La Follette School Board of Visitors member Chuck Pruitt, who served on the selection committee. “They also provide experiential learning opportunities for several students, who will work alongside these award-winning researchers as project assistants.”